Global Standards for the world economy

Friday 22 January 2021

Banner graphic


Trustees reappoint Amaro Gomes and Pat Finnegan to serve second terms; defer the appointment of replacements for retiring members of the IASB until completion of the 2015 organisation review

 24 February 2014

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, responsible for the governance and oversight of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) today announced the reappointment of Amaro Gomes (South America) and Pat Finnegan (North America) to serve second five-year terms as members of the IASB.  Mr Gomes is a former senior official of the Central Bank of Brazil, while Mr Finnegan previously served as Director of the Financial Reporting Policy Group at the CFA Institute Center for Financial Market Integrity.

The Trustees also announced their intention to seek public comment on the optimum size of the IASB, as part of a review of the structure and effectiveness of the IFRS Foundation and the IASB, which will be conducted during 2015.

The Trustees have over time adjusted the size and composition of the IASB to reflect the challenges and priorities for the Board at any given time.  Following the 2003-2005 Constitution Review, the Trustees gave greater priority to the appointment to the IASB of members with greater practical experience in the application and use of IFRS.  Following the review undertaken between 2008 and 2010, the Trustees expanded the membership of the IASB from 14 to 16 members and introduced specific criteria to ensure broad geographical diversity.

In 2015, the Trustees intend to start their next review of the structure and effectiveness of the IFRS Foundation, with one particular area to be examined being the optimum size of the IASB. The introduction of the Accounting Standards Advisory Forum (ASAF), the establishment of regional groupings of accounting standard-setters, the introduction of more sophisticated IASB outreach and stakeholder engagement programmes, as well as the end of the convergence programme, have all led to the IASB facing a different set of challenges and priorities in the coming years.  Recognising this changed standard-setting landscape, the Trustees intend to seek public input on the appropriate size of the IASB, while continuing to maintain geographical balance. 

In order not to predetermine the outcome of the 2015 review, the Trustees have decided to defer the appointment of members of the IASB to replace the Board members who will retire in June 2014.  Jan Engström (Europe) will have completed his second full term and will therefore not be eligible for reappointment, while Patricia McConnell (North America) has informed the Trustees of her desire to return to the United States and not to be considered for reappointment to a second term.

Commenting on the announcement, Michel Prada, Chairman of the IFRS Foundation Trustees said:

“The decision to consider the optimum size of the IASB as part of the 2015 Constitution Review reflects changes to the international standard-setting landscape and a maturing of the IASB and its various advisory and consultative mechanisms.

I would also like to congratulate Amaro and Pat on their reappointments and thank Jan and Patricia for their hard work and dedication to the IASB.”



Press enquiries:

Mark Byatt, Director of Communications and External Affairs, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6472
Chris Welsh, Communications Manager, IFRS Foundation
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6495


Board members as at 1 January 2014


Name of Board member Date of expiry of term Geographical region
1. Hans Hoogervorst   30 June 2016 At large
2. Ian Mackintosh 30 June 2016 Asia-Oceania
3. Stephen Cooper Second term expires: 31 July 2017 Europe
4. Philippe Danjou Second term expires: 30 June 2016 Europe
5. Martin Edelmann 30 June 2017 Europe
6. Jan Engström Second term expires: 30 June 2014 Europe
7. Patrick Finnegan 30 June 2014 (renewed until 2019) North America
8. Gary Kabureck 30 June 2017 North America
9. Suzanne Lloyd 31 December 2018 At large
10. Amaro Luiz de Oliveira Gomes 30 June 2014 (renewed until 2019) South America
11. Patricia McConnell 30 June 2014 North America
12. Takatsugu Ochi 30 June 2016 Asia-Oceania
13. Darrel Scott 30 June 2015 Africa
14. Mary Tokar 30 June 2017 North America
15. Chungwoo Suh 30 June 2017 Asia-Oceania
16. Wei-Guo Zhang Second term expires: 30 June 2017 Asia-Oceania