Global Standards for the world economy

Tuesday 07 April 2020

Banner graphic

Consultative groups

Insurance Working Group

The IASB has established a working group to help it analyse accounting issues relating to insurance contracts. The group brings together a wide range of interests and includes senior financial executives who are involved in financial reporting.



Name Position Organisation Country
Albert Benchimol EVP and CFO Axis Capital Ltd Bermuda
Tony Coleman Director Lonergan Edwards & Associates Australia
Andrew Crean Managing Partner Autonomous Research United Kingdom
Jerry de St Paer Executive Chairman Group of North American Insurance Enterprises United States
Frank Ellenbuerger Global Head of Insurance KPMG Germany
Sam Gutterman Chair of Insurance Accounting Committee International Actuarial Association International/United States
Gérald Harlin Chief Financial Officer Axa France
Tim Harris Group Chief Financial Officer Torus Insurance United Kingdom
Hisato Hosoi General Manager Accounting Department, Sompo Japan Insurance Japan
Bradley Hunkler Vice President and Controller Western and Southern Financial Group United States
Rob Jones Managing Director Standard & Poors United Kingdom
Burkhard Keese Executive Vice President, Group Financial Reporting Allianz Germany
Tom Kornya Partner Ernst & Young Canada
Maurizio Lualdi Senior Associate - Insurance Sector Capital Research Global Investors United Kingdom
Martin Müller Chief Accounting Officer, Managing Director Swiss Re Switzerland
Jan Nooitgedagt Chief Financial Officer Aegon The Netherlands
Hitesh Patel United Kingdom
Henry Siegel United States
Kevin Spataro Vice President - Accounting Policy & Research Allstate Insurance United States
Lynda Sullivan Executive Vice President and Controller Manulife Financial Corporation Canada
Yasunori Tanimoto General Manager, Planning & Research Department Nippon Life Insurance Japan
David A. Wheat Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Hannover Life Re United States
Alan Zimmermann GAZimmermann Associates LLC United States


  • Basel Committee on Banking Supervision
  • International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)
  • International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS)
  • European Financial Reporting Advisory Group (EFRAG)

Related information


Project email


Andrea Pryde
Associate Director


Joanna Yeoh
Senior Technical Manager


Conor Geraghty
Practice Fellow


Izabela Ruta
Technical Manager


Samuel Prestidge
Technical Associate