Global Standards for the world economy

Monday 03 August 2020

Banner graphic

Consultative groups

Effects Analysis Consultative Group

Effects Analysis Consultative Group

In their February 2012 report Strategy Review 2011, the Trustees of the IFRS Foundation recommended the establishment of a working group from the international community, to be chaired by the IASB, to develop an agreed methodology for fieldwork (including field testing and visits) and effect analyses. In that report, the Trustees noted that fieldwork and effect analyses are now considered best practice in the establishment of regulations. These activities form a regular part of the IASB’s standard-setting activity. However, the Trustees believe that the IASB should better define how such activities are carried out by bringing together an external group to help the IASB develop an agreed methodology.

A primary objective of the Effects Analysis Consultative Group is to address the following two questions:

  • Are the IASB’s processes for considering and communicating the likely effects of the new financial reporting requirements meeting the needs of investors, preparers, auditors and securities regulators?
  • Are the needs of those users and the needs of the broader regulatory community aligned? If they are not, what additional information do these regulators need, and what is the IASB’s role in helping them get that information?

IASB members


Name Title
Martin Edelmann Board Member
Chungwoo Suh Board Member

External members


Name Title Organisation Country
David Andrews Policy and Planning Manager Financial Reporting Council UK
Professor Esther Bay Audit Partner KPMG Singapore
Ewa Bialkowska IFRS Director KPMG UK
Sue Bielstein Director FASB US
Philippe Bui Senior Advisor Service of Professional Specialized Financing France
Keryn Chambers Head of Accounting and Finance Monash University Australia
Professor Daniël Coetsee Professor in Financial Accountancy University of Accountancy South Africa
Murtaza Dean Professional Standards Senior Manager Colins and Barrow Canada
Pieter Dekker Technical Director EFRAG Belgium
Tommaso Fabi Technical Director on International Activities Organismo Italiano di Contabilità Italy
Dr Alexei Estrella Morales Doctor en Contabilidad y Auditoria Arista, Gestoría Organizacional Ecuador
Professor Claes Norberg Professor, Director of Accountancy Confederation of Swedish Enterprise Sweden
Lucilene Pedro Assistant Professor in Accounting Universidade Paulista Brazil
Professor Roman Weil Professor Emeritus Chicago Booth Business School US
Chris Innes Wilson Group Chief Accountant Standard Chartered Bank UK




Name Title Organisation
Paul Beswick Chief Accountant SEC
Christelle Fontbonne-Proniewski DG Internal Market and Services, Policy Officer European Commission
Patrick Parent Executive Director Autorité des Marchés Financiers


Further information on the Terms of reference.


Related information